Statement on my dismissal from the Police Federation of England and Wales on Monday 3 February 2014

Following my unexpected and unreasonable dismissal by the Police Federation on Monday 3 February 2014, I have sought to keep my counsel.  However, I understand that misleading statements have been made and accordingly I have had no choice but to issue this short statement in order to protect my reputation.

“Regrettably my working relationship with the Police Federation has ended. In the short time I worked there, all my efforts were undertaken in good faith and with encouragement, mostly in the absence of any strategy, guidelines, policy or support.

“I continuously made it clear that I would do nothing to compromise my integrity or professionalism.  As expected of any professional head of communications, I offered honest and objective advice based on my extensive experience, made recommendations and asked difficult questions, however uncomfortable that was. This included challenging acts of bullying, inappropriate behaviours and attitudes.

“It is clear that a vocal minority took exception to my role and as a result, my services were dispensed with. This was after I had expressed a view that my position was becoming increasingly untenable. It is deeply regrettable that the organisation that represents rank and file police officers, dismissed me without due process being followed as a member of staff, given that it expects such standards to be applied by other individuals and organisations, when it comes to their own members.”

ends

12 comments

  1. Come on……..? You cannot put a statement up like this and then not make any further comment just like the Fed are doing…… GC

  2. Fiona, I don’t know you but hope you manage to get everything sorted out for you, as a grassroots officer who has as little as possible to do with the federation, I admire the stance and your honesty

    regards

    Dave

  3. Nothing in your dismissal statement about financial failures but the newspapers are all about financial irregularities.
    Are these allegation your plan B
    Brian

  4. Fiona. Your treatment does not come as a surprise to me. I have first hand knowledge of some of the individuals and groups your will have come across. Your experience and professional competence will have been a considerable threat to their pure self interest- not to mention your honesty!
    The organisation is generally controlled nationally and within 43 branch offices by those who lack experience and training in areas of management and leadership. Most are only interested in holding a position away from front-line policing.
    There are also destructive elements within who will “craft” against anyone who attempts to hold them to account and sadly others do not have the courage to confront the prevailing self serving attitudes of some.
    Your best out of such a corrupt environment.

Leave a Reply

